Jaimini Astrology

Jaimini Maharshi who is a contemporary of sage Parasara propounds Jaimini astrology. It is a unique system of astrology though the predictions are synonymous with that of Parasara system.

This system is mainly based on the principle that a planet that has highest degrees in any sign rules characteristics and life of the native. The sign that has two or more planets is stronger than other signs having less or no planets. The characteristics of signs also have greater effect on native’s life. For example a movable sign is considered to be stronger for some events and weaker for certain other events.

The unique features of Jaimini System are

  • Seven karakas represented by seven planets
  • Aspects of the signs
  • Dasas of zodiacal signs
  • Application of different Dasa systems for different events in life
  • Results of combinations of karakas or yogas of karakas
  • Advanced system of calculating strength of planets

Jaimini has written the entire treatise by way of simple aphorisms, which are difficult to comprehend. But, one can accurately predict the timing of events through Jaimini system. It can be learnt and applied only by those who have a background of Parasara system of astrology. So it requires an in-depth understanding of the principles of the Science of Astrology.

Here we explain the unique features of Jaimini Astrology in detail.


Jaimini introduced the concept of karakatvas for planets. He categorizes seven planets as Atma, Amatya, Bhratru, Matru, Putra, Gnati, and Dara Karakas according to the descending order of the longitudes of planets in the signs they are. The planet with highest number of degrees is called as Atmakaraka and the one with the least dgrees is called Darakaraka. The rest will be as per order indicated above.


Jaimini introduced a unique system of planetary aspects. He introduced a new way of aspects for signs and the planets in them according to the nature of signs – whether it is a movable or immovable sign.


Yogas in Jaimini system are quite different from the traditional system of Yogas. There are of course Raja Yogas, Dhana Yogas and Arishta Yogas. These yogas can be considered from the position, aspect and conjunction of Karakas.


Using Jaimini system one can easily calculate the strength of planets and signs. Jaimini introduced an improvised and easy method for calculating the strength of Signs and Planets unlike the tedious calculations involved in Shadbala.

Dasa System:

Dasa Systems that propounded by Jaimini are several. Dasa systems are mainly that of Signs and not Planets unlike Parasara System. By using each kind of Dasa one can easily predict certain specific events in one’s life.


Planetary aspects are generally modified by certain agencies called “Argala”. Planets in a certain house from a sign can cause “Argala” which can increase or destroy the results provided by the sign in question . Argala is can also be determined according to the planet posited in a sign – whether it is a benefic or malefic. The results of these argalas can be felt during the dasa periods of Signs, which have Argala.