How to Read Your Horoscope Yourself?

You can read your horoscope yourself if you have a basic understanding of the components and terms associated with a horoscope. Here is as basic explanation of various things you come across with regard to reading your horoscope.

Birth Star

It is stars and planets together that influence your life. The stars that can show their influence on human beings are categorized into 27 star groups, which are generally considered as ‘stars’ in Astrology. The planets move from one star to another. The duration for which a planet stays in a star changes from planet to planet. According to the star in which a planet is, it takes the characteristics of the star to influence one’s life. The star in which moon is present at the time of birth will be your birth star, which influences your life to a great extent.

Birth Sign

Each star is again divided into four parts or padas, thus making 108 padas in total for all the 27 stars. The zodiac is divided into 12 signs – Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. So, there are 21/4 stars or 9 padas in one sign. The first star in the stars list, Aswini, starts with the sign ‘Aries’. The sign in which moon is present in your horoscope becomes your birth sign. This determines your character and effects of planets in their transits.

  • Aries
  • Taurus
  • Gemini
  • Cancer
  • Leo
  • Virgo
  • Libra
  • Scorpio
  • Saggitarius
  • Capricorn
  • Aquarius
  • Pisces

Ascendant Sign:

The sign which is rising in the east becomes your ascendant. It determines your total life events and planetary influences on your life and character. Ascendant and other signs signify the following things. In this case ascendant is considered as first sign and the remaining houses are ordered in a clockwise direction.

  • Body, character
  • Money, eyes, family
  • Brothers, courage
  • Mother, vehicles, pleasure
  • Intellect, education, popularity
  • Attacks, court cases, enemies, diseases
  • Spouse
  • Death, problems
  • Father, luck, devotion
  • Profession, fame
  • Success

We hope you got a better understanding on how to read your horoscope. Here are a few websites where you can get free online horoscopes.

Without registration:


With registration: